As this is a new website, we’re still gathering some content; if you can’t find something you’ve seen before, let us know! Please give us your feedback– Core is a proposed division that is still being defined– and we want Core to be a Division you are proud to call home. The 2019-20 Core Steering Committee is reviewing and revising the draft project plan. Take a look and let us know what you think! If you’re interested in helping make Core a reality, sign-up to get involved.

The idea to create one division began in the Fall of 2017 with the creation of a Steering Committee comprised of the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), and Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) Presidents, Presidents-elect, and Executive Directors. This group began meeting regularly and realized how much overlap in strategic mission, continuing education, and topical interest there is between the three divisions. After reviewing a range of models, the Steering Committee concluded that developing plans for a new division needed further exploration.

Each division Board met individually at the 2018 Midwinter Meeting to review the concept and to discuss the pros and cons of such a reorganization. From those meetings, the divisions agreed to continue discussions.

Next they created an ALA Connect community – ALCTS/LLAMA/LITA Alignment Discussion – to provide a central place for members to learn more about the possible project and to have ongoing discussions with each other and with member leaders. An online survey for the members of all three divisions also provided opportunities for members to share their thoughts. Read the survey findings report.

Work continues, with the 2019-20 Presidents-Elect taking over the New Division Steering Committee in July 2019. In August 2019, the group announced the new name for the proposed division, Core: Leadership, Infrastructures, Futures.

This site will provide the most current information, links to reports, and regular updates for the project.